Abdulmohsin AlOmran | A Deep-Dive Into Diversification, Retirement, and Asset Protection in Wealth Management

Oct 14 2021 | 7 min

During a webinar held on 6 October, The Family Office Founder and CEO Abdulmohsin Al Omran discussed with Mohammed Albaz, Bahrain Bureau Senior Reporter at Sky News Arabia, rising inflation after the Covid-19 pandemic, investment horizons in the region, asset allocation, etc.

Global Concern Over Rising Inflation

The US Federal Reserve focuses on two major goals: unemployment and inflation. The world economy had recently suffered a significant slowdown with the Covid-19 pandemic, but rebounded sharply after the successful vaccination, which led to shortages in many materials, used in modes of transportation and ships, etc. This affected oil prices especially, which became negative during the pandemic. All these factors together increased inflation. However, current inflation levels are transitory and may exceed the 2% targeted by the Federal Reserve.

Savers shouldn’t keep their money in current bank accounts, but invest it to protect it from inflation. 30 to 40 years ago, people would build their houses by buying some material and hiring some workers. This model no longer exists. People hire engineers who determine their needs and ensure the building is safe. The same goes for the investment model that changed in the last three years with the financial knowledge sought by the GCC generally and Saudi Arabia specifically with Vision 2030 to educate investors about saving and investing.

Investment and Asset Management in the GCC

When we established The Family Office in 2004, there was no licensing for wealth and asset management in the GCC. During the last 17 years, however, each country in the region established financial supervisory and legislative authorities for this industry, which led to substantial development. Undoubtedly, countries are keen to protect small investors as the minimum investment amount remains at SR1 million, but we expect different investment products in the coming period that would allow small investors to invest safely.

Every investor is different, depending on their risk appetite, available liquidity, and the time horizon they desire starting with three years. The shorter is the time horizon, the higher the risk, so we always advise investors to invest over the long term to preserve their wealth.

Investment is a culture. The more confident the investor is that investment companies are highly professional, the more they will invest. The pearl trade was the first in the GCC in the 1950s and 1940s. The pearl is not formed overnight. Like wealth, it requires a long time and needs a specific environment. Investors should treat wealth like pearl formation over the years, and avoid exposing it to storms and risks by being in a rush to create wealth.

Diversification to Protect Wealth from Investment Risks

Risk affects the performance of the investment portfolio. At The Family Office, we design an investment strategy for the client based on a questionnaire that determines risks, liquidity, and the desired time horizon by the investor. We then determine asset allocation and invest these assets in many countries, sectors, and companies. We form a diversified portfolio of strong companies that have cash flows, not unreal speculations with unreasonable valuations.

You cannot have a very high level of safety and very high returns. The ideal way is to make diversified investments that may have a high risk individually but can be decreased with diversification.

The Economic Situation in China

We have been reading from the beginning bad news about China, but the country’s economy keeps growing and is today the second largest economy in the world. China’s economy is also expected to surpass the US economy.

When a certain company or sector is affected for a specific period, this does not mean the end of the country’s economy. If we look at the sky and see a black cloud, would we say the sky is black? The news we hear about China is just this cloud, and China and the Asian markets are the promising markets. Even US portfolio managers allocate investments to these markets specifically. China has a very strong economy with a status in the world.

Investing Deposits

Safe is comfortable, but what is the result of comfort? When savers do not invest their deposits, the bank does. They only benefit if they are shareholders in the bank and will be harmed otherwise. Investment is not a choice. We advise you to start saving early and invest professionally with trusted, regulated investment companies, while avoiding adventure, speculation, and borrowing against your savings. Anyone following these principles will be safe.

Best Return Rates for Investors

We have been telling investors since the beginning and for 17 years that they must accept returns between 6% and 8% to preserve their wealth with minimum risk, and that an average of 7% means that their capital will double every 10 years. Some might borrow from banks and speculate to achieve returns between 14% and 20% per year. The question is, will speculation achieve the same 7% return over 20 years?

Investment Plan at The Family Office

We spared no effort from the beginning to find solutions for investors based on the information we acquire when we analyze the economies and markets of the world. We are committed to the duty entrusted to us and we shall persist in our policy. No client has ever invested with us for more than three years and lost even one riyal. This is a duty we shall continue to preserve.

The Family Office follows the same investment process for every investor regardless of their investment amount. We start with knowing clients and their needs through a questionnaire, then offer several proposals and move to implementation that is done in stages to protect the client’s wealth.

It is worth noting that The Family Office is licensed by the Capital Market Authority in Saudi Arabia, the Central Bank of Bahrain, the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong, the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA), and the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Our presence in these markets allows us to evaluate market performance and determine investment opportunities with the best strategic partners to create the right portfolios for investors. We aim to diversify client portfolios into different regions, industries, companies, and sectors worldwide.

Shariah-Compliant Investments at The Family Office

Shariah-compliant investment solutions differ from one company to the other. At The Family Office, 55% of our clients invest in deals that are approved by our Shariah panel.

Outlook for the GCC and the World Following Economic and Investment Transformations

The GCC region is doing well and is blessed with its oil wealth, financial wealth that was amassed over the years, and human assets with 70% of the young generation less than 30 years old. Anyone who visits the region is amazed by the progress year after year. There are challenges of course but the direction is right and the determination huge, and we will keep believing in our youth and investing in them. At The Family Office, we train 10 graduates every year, and will reach 20 trainees in the next period.

Internationally, you cannot predict but must be optimistic and have a written investment strategy that does not change based on moods. In the end, we urge you to partner with the best investment offices and you’ll be fine.

 

Disclaimer:

This presentation is provided to you by The Family Office Co. BSC(c) (“The Family Office”) for informational purposes only, and contains proprietary information that may not be reproduced, distributed to, or used by, any third parties without The Family Office’s prior written consent.

All information, figures, calculations, graphs and other numerical representations appearing in this presentation have not been audited and may be subject to change over time. Furthermore, certain valuations (including valuations of investments) appearing in this presentation are subject to change as they may be based on either estimates or historical figures that do not reflect the latest valuation. Although all information and opinions expressed in this presentation were obtained from sources believed to be reliable and in good faith, no representation or warranty, express or implied, is made as to their accuracy or completeness. The information contained herein is not a substitute for a thorough due diligence investigation. Past performance is not indicative of and does not guarantee future performance. Exit timelines, prices and related projections are estimates only, and exits could happen sooner or later than expected, or at a higher or lower valuation than expected, and are conditional, among other things, on certain assumptions and future performance relating to the financial and operational health of each business and macroeconomic conditions.

The Family Office makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, with respect to any statistics or historical or current financial data, whether created by The Family Office through its own research or quoted from other sources. With respect to any such statistics or data delivered or made available by or on behalf of The Family Office, it is acknowledged that (a) the investor takes full responsibility for making its own evaluation of the materiality of the information and the integrity of the quoted source and (b) the investor has no claim against The Family Office.

Amounts in currencies other than the US Dollar are translated using prevailing market rates as calculated by The Family Office or its service providers and may differ from the rates used by banks. The rates are indicative only and do not reflect the rates at which The Family Office would be prepared to enter into any transactions with other parties.

Certain information contained in this presentation constitutes “forward looking statements,” which can be identified by the use of words such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “project,” “plans,” “estimates,” “intend,” “continue,” or “believe,” or the negatives thereof or other variations thereon or comparable terminology. To the extent this presentation contains any forecasts, projections, goals, plans and other forward looking statements, such forward looking statements are inherently subject to, known and unknown, significant business, economic, competitive, regulatory and other risks, contingencies and uncertainties, most of which are difficult to predict and many of which are beyond The Family Office’s control and may cause actual performance, financial results and other projections in the future to differ materially from any projections of future performance, results or achievements expressed or implied by such forward looking statements. Investors should not place undue reliance on these forward looking statements. The Family Office undertakes no obligation to update any forward looking statements to conform to actual results or changes in The Family Office’s expectations, unless required by applicable law.

The Family Office makes no representation or warranty, express or implied, with respect to any financial projection or forecast With respect to any such projection or forecast delivered or made available by or on behalf of The Family office, it is acknowledged that (a) there are uncertainties inherent in attempting to make such projections and forecasts, (b) the investor is familiar with such uncertainties, (c) the investor takes full responsibility for making its own evaluation of the adequacy and accuracy of all such projections and forecasts so furnished to it and (d) the investor has no claim against The Family Office.

In addition, this presentation does not constitute an offer to sell, or a solicitation to buy, any instrument or other financial product, nor does it amount to a commitment by The Family Office to make such an offer at present or an indication of The Family Office’s willingness to make such an offer in the future.

The Family Office is a Category 1 Investment Firm regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain C.R.No.53871 dated 21/6/2004. Paid Up Capital: US$10,000,000. The Family Office only offers products and services to ‘accredited investors’ as defined by the Central Bank of Bahrain.

Talk To Our Investment Professionals

Get started on your customized investment strategy

Schedule An Appointment

ندوة رقميّة مع مؤسس شركة The Family Office ورئيسها التنفيذي عبد المحسن العمران

Oct 07 2021 | 5 min

تحدّث مؤسس شركة The Family Office ورئيسها التنفيذي عبد المحسن العمران في السادس من أكتوبر مع محمّد الباز، كبير الصحافيين في مكتب البحرين في سكاي نيوز عربية، في ندوة رقميّة تطرّقت إلى ارتفاع معدلات التضخم بسبب جائحة كورونا، والآفاق الاستثماريّة في المنطقة، وتوزيع الأصول، وغيرها.

القلق العالمي من ارتفاع معدلات التضخم

تصب كافة اجتماعات وأهداف البنك المركزي الفدرالي في الولايات المتحدة في عاملَين رئيسَين هما مستوى البطالة والتضخم. شهدنا في الفترة الماضية نتيجة جائحة كورونا تباطؤ كبير في اقتصاديات العالم، تلاه مؤخراً ارتداد كبير في الاقتصاديّات العالميّة بعد عمليّات التطعيم الناجحة مما أدى إلى شح في مواد كثيرة في وسائل النقل والبواخر وغيرها. أثّر ذلك على الأسعار، وتحديداً أسعار البترول، التي انتهت إلى السالب أيام الجائحة. وساهمت كافة هذه العوامل في ارتفاع التضخم. فالتضخم الذي نشهده اليوم مؤقت ومستوياته الحالية مؤقتة، وقد تفوق نسبته الـ2% التي يستهدفها البنك الفدرالي الأمريكي.

يجدر بالمدخرين عدم الاحتفاظ بأموالهم في حسابات جارية بل استثمارها لحمايتها من التضخم. قبل ثلاثين أو أربعين عاما، كان الإنسان يبني منزله بشراء بعض الأدوات واستخدام بعض العمال. لم نعد نتّبع هذا الأسلوب اليوم، بل نستعين بمهندسين يحددون احتياجاتنا ويتأكدون من سلامة البناء. هكذا تغير أسلوب الاستثمار في الأعوام الثلاثة الماضية مع الثقافة المالية التي تسعى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي وخصوصاً السعودية إلى تحقيقها في رؤية 2030 وتثقيف المستثمرين عن الادخار والاستثمار.

الاستثمار وإدارة الأصول في منطقة الخليج

عندما أسسنا The Family Office عام 2004 لم يكن هناك ترخيص لإدارة الثروات والأصول في منطقة الخليج. لكن خلال فترة 17 عام الماضية، أصبح لكل دولة في المنطقة هيئة رقابة مالية ومشرعين لهذه الصناعة مما أدى إلى تقدم كبير في هذا المجال. تحرص الدول بلا شك على صغار المستثمرين إذ يبقى الحد الأدنى للاستثمار عند مليون ريال، لكن سنشهد في الفترة القادمة منتجات متعددة تسمح لصغار المستثمرين الاستثمار بدرجة عالية من الطمأنينة.

يختلف كل مستثمر عن الآخر وفق درجة المخاطر ومعدل السيولة المتوفرة لديه والمدى الاستثماري الذي يرغب فيه بدءً من ثلاث سنوات. تزيد نسبة المخاطر مع انخفاض المدى الاستثماري فننصح المستثمرين دائماً بالاستثمار على المدى البعيد للحفاظ على ثرواتهم.

الاستثمار ثقافة. كلما اطمأن المستثمر أن الشركات الاستثمارية تعمل باحترافية عالية، زادت رغبته للاستثمار. كانت تجارة اللؤلؤ التجارة الأولى في الخمسينيات والأربعينيات في منطقة الخليج. لا تتكون اللؤلؤة بين ليلة وضحاها، فهي كالثروة، تحتاج إلى وقت كبير وبيئة معينة. على المستثمر أن ينظر إلى الثروة بنفس فكرة تكوين اللؤلؤة على مدى السنين، دون أن يعرضها إلى العواصف والمخاطر استعجالا لزيادة ثروته.

التنويع للحماية من المخاطر الاستثمارية

تؤثر المخاطر على أداء المحفظة الاستثمارية. نقوم في The Family Office بوضع سياسة استثمارية للعميل بناءً على استبيان يحدد المخاطر والسيولة والفترة الزمنية التي يرغب الاستثمار فيها، ثمّ نحدد تنويع الأصول ونستثمر في دول وقطاعات وشركات مختلفة. نكوّن محفظة متنوعة من شركات قوية لديها تدفقات نقدية وليس مضاربات وهمية بتقييمات غير منطقية.

لا يُمكن تحقيق عوائد عالية بدرجة أمان عالية، وتتمحور الطريقة المثلى إلى استهداف استثمارات متنوعة قد تكون مخاطرها عالية منفردةً، ولكنّها تنخفض مع التنويع.

الوضع الاقتصادي في الصين

نقرأ منذ بداية عملنا أخبار سيئة عن الصين لكنّ اقتصادها يستمر في النمو وهي اليوم ثاني أكبر اقتصاد في العالم. ويُتوقّع أن يتخطى اقتصادها الاقتصاد الأمريكي.

عندما تتأثر شركة أو قطاع في فترة معينة، لا يعني ذلك نهاية الاقتصاد ككلّ، ولو نظرنا إلى السماء وشاهدنا سحابة سوداء، هل نقول أنّ السماء سوداء؟ الأخبار التي نسمعها اليوم عن الصين هي تلك الغيمة، فالصين وأسواق آسيا هي الأسواق الواعدة. حتى لو ذهبنا إلى الولايات المتحدة ومدراء المحافظ فيها، نرى أنّهم يخصصون الأموال لهذه الأسواق تحديداً. تتمتّع الصين باقتصاد قوي جداً له مكانته في العالم.

استثمار الودائع

الوضع الآمن مريح، لكن ما نتيجة الراحة؟ عندما لا يستثمر المدخر ودائعه، سيستثمرها البنك. ولو كان المدخر يمتلك أسهماً في البنك فسيستفيد، وإلا سيتضرر. الاستثمار ضرورة وليس خيار. ننصح بالادخار مبكراً والاستثمار بطرق حرفية من قبل شركات موثوقة ومرخصة، مع الابتعاد عن المغامرة والمضاربة والاقتراض على المدخرات. من يتبع هذه المبادئ يكون في برّ الأمان.

معدلات العوائد المثلى للمستثمرين

نقول للمستثمرين منذ البداية وطوال 17 عاما أنّهم لو أرادوا الحفاظ على ثروتهم بدرجة أقل من المخاطر عليهم أن يقبلوا بين 6 و8% من العوائد، إذ يؤدي معدل 7% إلى مضاعفة رأس المال كلّ 10 أعوام. قد يميل البعض إلا الاقتراض من البنك والمضاربة لتحقيق بين 14 و20% من العوائد في السنة. لكن يبقى السؤال، هل تحقّق المضاربة نفس معدّل 7% على مدى 20 عام؟

الخطة الاستثمارية في The Family Office

صببنا عملنا وجهودنا من اليوم الأول في إيجاد حلول تناسب المستثمر بناءً على معطيات نحصل عليها من اقتصاديات العالم والأسواق وغيرها. ونحن ملتزمون بهذه الأمانة التي وكلت إلينا وسنستمر على هذه السياسة. لم يخسر أي عميل استثمر معنا لثلاث سنوات أو أكثر ريالا واحدا. وهذه أمانة نستمر في الحفاظ عليها.

تتبع The Family Office نفس السياسة الاستثمارية لكلّ مستثمر مهما كان مبلغ الاستثمار. نبدأ بالتعرف على العميل واحتياجاته عن طريق استبيان، ثمّ نطرح عدة أفكار وننتقل إلى عملية التنفيذ على عدة مراحل لحماية ثروة العميل.

الجدير بالذكر أنّ The Family Office مرخصة من قبل هيئة سوق المال في السعودية والبنك المركزي في البحرين ولجنة الأوراق المالية والعقود الآجلة في هونغ كونغ وهيئة الإشراف على السوق المالية السويسرية ولجنة الأوراق المالية والبورصات الأمريكية. يُمكّننا وجودنا في جميع هذه الأسواق من مراقبة أداء الأسواق وتحديد فرص استثماريّة مع أفضل الشركاء الاستراتيجيين لخلق المحافظ الصحيحة لهؤلاء المستثمرين. ونهدف إلى تنويع محفظة العميل بمختلف المناطق والصناعات والشركات والقطاعات حول العالم.

الاستثمارات المتوافقة مع الشريعة في The Family Office

تختلف حلول الاستثمارات المتوافقة مع الشريعة من مؤسسة لأخرى، أمّا في The Family Office فيستثمر 55% من عملائنا في استثمارات موافق عليها من هيئة شرعية.

آفاق منطقة الخليج والعالم بعد التحولات في المشهدين الاقتصادي والاستثماري

منطقة الخليج بخير، فهي غنيّة بالثروات البتروليّة والثروات الماليّة المتراكمة على مرّ السنين والثروات البشرية مع 70% من جيل الشباب تقل أعمارهم عن 30 عاما. ينبهر من يزور المنطقة بالتقدم سنة تلو الأخرى. هناك تحديات طبعا، لكنّ الوجهة صحيحة والعزيمة كبيرة وسنستمر بالإيمان بشبابنا والاستثمار فيهم. نقوم في The Family Office بتدريب 10 خريجين كل عام، وسنصل إلى 20 في الفترة القادمة.

أمّا على الصعيد العالمي، لا يمكننا أن نتنبأ بل أن نتفاءل ونضع سياسة استثمارية مكتوبة لا تتغير حسب المزاج. ونشدّد في النهاية، تشارك مع أفضل البيوت الاستثمارية وستكون بخير.

 

 

إخلاء المسؤوليّة

تقدم لك شركة The Family Office Co. BSC(c) - "The Family Office" هذا العرض لأغراض إعلامية فقط، ويحتوي على معلومات سرية وخاصة لا يجوز إعادة إنتاجها أو توزيعها أو استخدامها من قبل أي أطراف ثالثة بدون موافقة خطية مسبقة من The Family Office.

لم تدُقق أي معلومات أو أشكال أو حسابات أو رسوم بيانية أو تمثيلات رقمية أخرى واردة في هذا العرض علماً أنها قابلة لتغيير في أي وقت. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، بعض التقييمات (بما في ذلك تقييمات الاستثمارات) الظاهرة في هذا العرض قابلة للتغيير حيث أنها قد تستند إلى تقديرات أو أرقام تاريخية لا تعكس أحدث التقييمات. مع أن مصادر جميع المعلومات والآراء الواردة في هذا العرض تعتبر موثوقة بحسن نية، لا يقدم أي تعهد أو ضمان، معبر أو ضمني، فيما يتعلّق بدقّتها أو اكتمالها. ليست المعلومات الواردة هنا بديلة عن تحقيق العناية الواجبة. لا يعتبر الأداء السابق مؤشراً أو ضامناً لأداء المستقبل. تعتبر الجداول الزمنية للخروج، والأسعار والتوقعات المتعلقة بها تقديرات فقط. وقد يحدث الخروج قبل أو بعد ما هو متوقّع، أو بتقييم أعلى أو أقلّ، مشروطاً، كمثال وليس للحصر، بافتراضات معينة والأداء المستقبلي المتعلّق بالوضع المالي والتشغيلي لكل شركة والظروف الاقتصادية العامة.

لا تقدّم The Family Office أي تعهد أو ضمان، معبر أو ضمني، فيما يتعلّق بأي إحصائيّات أو بيانات مالية تاريخية أو حالية. سواء كان مصدرها The Family Office من خلال أبحاث خاصة أو غيره. فيما يتعلق بأي من تلك الإحصاءات أو البيانات المقدمة أو المتاحة من قبل أو نيابة عن The Family Office، (أ) يتحمل المستثمر كامل المسؤولية لإجراء تقييمه الخاص لمدى أهمية المعلومات النسبية وسلامة المصدر و(ب) ليس لدى المستثمر أي مطالبة ضد The Family Office.

تُحوّل أيّ مبالغ بعملة غير الدولار الأمريكي حسب أسعار الصرف السائدة في السوق كما حسبتها The Family Office أو مزودي الخدمة لديها وقد تختلف أسعار البنوك. تعتبر الأسعار إرشادية فقط ولا تعكس استعداد The Family Office لعقد صفقات مع أطراف أخرى بناءً عليها.

تشكل بعض المعلومات الواردة في هذا العرض "بيانات تطلعية"، والتي يمكن تحديدها باستخدام كلمات مثل "يجوز" أو "سوف" أو "يجب" أو "يتوقع" أو "يُنتظر" أو "مشروع" أو "خطط" أو "تقديرات" أو "النية" أو "المتابعة" أو "الاعتقاد" أو عكسها بصيغة النفي أو بدائل لها أو مصطلحات مماثلة. حيث يحتوي هذا العرض على توقعات أو أهداف أو خطط أو بيانات تطلعية أخرى. تخضع تلك البيانات التطلعية بطبيعتها لمخاطر معروفة ومجهولة متعلقة بأعمال تجارية واقتصادية وتنافسية وتنظيمية وغيرها وأوضاع طارئة وعدم يقين، معظمها يصعب التنبؤ به وخارج عن سيطرة The Family Office مما قد يسبب اختلافاً مُهماً بين الأداء الفعلي أو النتائج المالية والتوقعات الأخرى المستقبلية وتوقعات الأداء أو النتائج أو الإنجازات المستقبلية في تلك البيانات التطلعية، بشكل معبر أو ضمني. يجب ألا يعتمد المستثمرون دون مبرر على تلك البيانات التطلعية. لا تلتزم The Family Office بتحديث أي بيانات تطلعية لتتوافق مع النتائج الفعلية أو التغيرات في توقعات The Family Office إلا إذا نص القانون المعمول به على ذلك.

لا تقدم The Family Office أي تعهد أو ضمان، معبر أو ضمني، فيما يتعلق بأي توقعات مالية. وفي ما يتعلّق بأي توقعات تم تسليمها أو إتاحتها من قبل أو نيابةً عن The Family Office (أ) تضمن محاولة تقديم مثل هذه التوقعات بطبيعتها عدم اليقين و(ب) يعتبر المستثمر عدم اليقين أمراً مألوفاً و(ج) يتحمل المستثمر كامل المسؤولية لإجراء تقييمه الخاص لمدى اكتمال هذه التوقعات المقدمة ودقتها (د) ليس لدى المستثمر أي مطالبة ضد The Family Office.

يمثل هذا العرض ملخصاً لمعلومات معيّنة ويجب مراجعة مذكرة الطرح الخاص للشروط الكاملة وفهم الاستثمارات ومخاطرها بشكلٍ أكمل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا يمثل هذا العرض عرضاً للبيع أو طلباً لشراء أي أداة أو منتج مالي آخر، ولا يمثل التزاماً من قِبَل The Family Office لتقديم مثل هذا العرض في الوقت الحاضر أو إشارةً إلى استعداد The Family Office لعرضه مستقبلاً.

The Family Office هي شركة استثمارية من الفئة الأولى تخضع لرقابة مصرف البحرين المركزي، ومرخّصة بسجل تجاري رقم 53871 صادر بتاريخ 21/6/2004، وبرأس مال مُصرّح به ومدفوع قدره 10,000,000 دولار أمريكي. ولا تُقدّم The Family Office Co. BSC(c) منتجاتها وخدماتها سوى إلى "مستثمرين معتمدين" على النحو المحدد من قِبل مصرف البحرين المركزي.

تحدث إلى خبراء الاستثمار لدينا

ابدأ في استراتيجية الاستثمار المخصصة لك

إحجز موعداً